New York DWI First Offense

New York DWI First Offense
For many people, being charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) is their first run in with the law. Unfortunately, even a first offense can result in jail time or the loss of driving privileges. If you have found yourself in this situation, you may feel overwhelmed and embarrassed. You should speak with an experienced attorney today to learn more about the charges you are facing for a New York DWI first offense.

A first DWI offense is classified as a misdemeanor. If you are convicted, your drunk-driving charge will show up on your criminal record indefinitely. This can have a negative impact when applying for a job, school, housing, or even a loan.

The penalties for a New York DWI first offense may include fines ranging from $500 to $1,000, up to one year in jail, up to three years of probation, a yearly $250 driver responsibility assessment fee for three years, and mandatory attendance at a victim-impact panel.

In addition to the penalties listed above, you may also face a six-month driver’s license revocation. However, you may be eligible for a conditional permit if you enroll and participate in the Drinking Driver Program. A conditional license allows you to drive to and from school, work, and other court-approved locations.

In some cases, a plea bargain offer to reduce the DWI charge to a driving while ability impaired (DWAI) may be presented to a first time offender. This would lessen the charge from a crime (DWI) to a traffic infraction (DWAI). However, this plea bargain may not be offered if your blood alcohol content was over .13%, you refused to take a breath test, or you caused an accident while under the influence.

The penalties for a first DWAI offense include fines ranging from $300 to $500, up to 15 days in jail, a 90-day driver’s license suspension, a yearly $250 driver responsibility fee for three years, and attendance at a victim-impact panel.

Don’t let a New York DWI first offense affect your life. Fill out our online form today, and an experienced DWI defense attorney in your area will contact you soon to discuss your case.